MC Lyte On Team Nicki Minaj & Speaks About Diss Wars And Battles!!!

It looks like legendary emcee, MC Lyte is riding with Team Nicki. In a recent interview with VH1 she speaks on the conflict between Nicki Minaj and Lil Kim, and her experience with diss wars and battles. Be sure to check out the interview after the jump.

VH1: Nicki Minaj…

MC LYTE: You know, I look at her as a culmination of all of the female emcees that are and were with her spice all on top of it and she’s uniquely different for this time because she’s equipped business wise. She totaly understands the business, she understands what it means to be different in your approach and I love it. When I listen to her I feel like I’m on a voyage because you never know exactly where she’s going to end up.

VH1: Who would you say her flow is similiar too?

MC LYTE: No one that I know. I think in style, I like to think of Missy because when I first heard Missy and I heard all of the little noises she use to make and I would be like “what the hell? Oh Wow, I wanna learn how to do that…” and now you know it just feels like Nicki on steroids. It’s like… she’s just thoroughly entertaining.

VH1: Thoughts on the Lil Kim and Nicki Minaj Battle?

MC LYTE: I can easily say it’s unfortunate but I’ve had my diss wars and my battles back in the day…

VH1: Who was your diss against?

MC LYTE: Antoinette. [laughs] Which we never met by the way, which was really odd. Oh, we did battle one time, face to face but I think literally the difference between us was I had had a couple of records out before her so, I had made a couple of fans before she did and that was the only thing that separated us, you know, in terms of who was going to win the battle. I just had more people backing me. So, I was lucky I came out when I did…

With regards to Nicki and Kim, we were actually just talking about it in the dressing room and I feel like right now there’s room for everyone but those who really need to be worried by Nicki’s record is Fergie, Gwen Stefani, Nelly Fertado… Nicki is coming out to win She’s not thinking of the block, she’s not thinking of the city She’s able to handle so many areas of what it takes right now to be an international star. So, hats off to everybody’s that’s doing it but I see the vision that Nicki she’s for the herself that people probably didn’t see before.

VH1: Do you think Kim coming at Nicki was warranted?

MC LYTE: Same reason I went after Antoinette, it’s what an emcee thrives on and you can not tell me that any female emcee listening to either one of them don’t wanna spit a verse themselves because it’s that competitive nature that hip hop brings to the community…

Leave a Reply

